top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorSaint Luis

My volunteer experience

Actualizado: 31 ene 2021

One day in June 2020, while I was in the field working picking fruit, I thought, I want to go to Africa. Searching through worldpackers, I got in touch with Ludovick, the principal of a Tanzanian school. After talking to him, I had a good feeling and bought the plane ticket.


It was later when I told my father. Are you crazy! He told me ... And so much, but I have already bought the ticket, I am leaving in a month and a half. Preparing for the trip, I came up with the idea of ​​doing a crouwdfounding, so that my family and friends could help this little school. More than $ 2,000 they offered together to buy tablets and bring technology to the school, as well as to start the construction of a new building! The journey couldn't have started better.


Once I got to school, all my little fears that I had about going just to a part of the world totally unknown to me disappeared. Words cannot describe the love I received upon my arrival. All the children were super adorable, and the teachers' treatment was very close and affectionate.




On the second day we took to school all the toys, tablets and gifts that I brought from Spain, as well as the tablets that we bought in Dar Er Salam. It was there when I understood true happiness, seeing how children's faces change with things that are so everyday in Europe, unfortunately. Today, in Europe children value almost nothing. Instead, the school children were delighted with their new things to do sports and learn using technologies


“How with so little, we can do so much ... Anyone would pay to see their faces of happiness”

At that time, I knew that my connection to this school and the Mbingu community would last forever.




And it is because of the treatment I received, because of the love I have felt, and because of everything this experience has given me, that makes me want to continue by your side. Education is the future of tomorrow. We have to keep trying to give our children the best, and keep making this world a better place.


I carry you in my heart, all of you who made me a better person. To the teachers, to the students, to my family in Mbingu, to Ludovick, Magesa, Boaz Art, to the entire Mbingu community and of course to Eric, with whom I spent most of the time, we chose the name of his precious daughter, and she taught me what a good avocado juice is. How good and how fresh!





Thanks for everything. We will meet again.


With love,

Jose Garcia



36 visualizaciones0 comentarios
LOGO.png

ST. LUIS

SCHOOL

bottom of page